Editorial: The New Word Press Fast-Edit

editorial

The new “fast-edit” way of composing drafts here on WordPress has arrived. Is it just me, or does anyone else hate this thing? The first time I used it, it scheduled itself below my last post, and I almost thought I lost the damn thing!!  The word count is gone, so I have no idea how many words I’ve written, and spell check has vanished as well. The format for adding media is different, too. I’m sure I’ll get used to it eventually, but the big question is why WordPress would change something that was working just fine? Are they bored? Do they just like to fuck with people? I posted in the forum that we should be given the option of using the old method, but I doubt they’ll listen, unless others feel the same way. How about you? Are you okay with this new “fast-edit”, or do you prefer the older model? I’d love to hear some feedback on this. What do you think, WordPressers??

25 Replies to “Editorial: The New Word Press Fast-Edit”

  1. Amen Gary! lol if it’s not broken why fix it? I was just fine with the way things were….I don’t like change unless the original way wasn’t working….*sigh* but I will learn to sort of love the new way….until they change it again…*shakes fist at sky* leave my edit system alone! 😦 lol

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Since I hate the improved Stats page, I thought I’d avoid the improved editing experience for as long as possible. They suckered me into trying to Stats page by offering me a look at it then wouldn’t let me shift back–or at least not in any way I could find. I can still use the old page but it’s like going from New York to Rhode Island by way of Maine.

    Like

  3. Nope, I don’t like it at all. It’s nearly impossible to start a post then save it from my phone. I’ve found if I use my iPad though, I can simply type the title, wait a sec, it saves it, then go back to the post from the dashboard through the saved posts and then finish it in the manner I was accustomed to.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve reverted to using the classic editor too, but one thing driving me crazy is that I prepare drafts way in advance but when I hit publish, it treats it as if it was published when I wrote it! The post gets buried in the reader and put out of order on my blog. I figured out how to fix it but come on!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I think there are some bugs because I’ve experienced all of these problems as well. I was happy with the old version which I was just learning because I’ve only been blogging for a little over a month. So, since the “upgrade” it’s definitely made it a little difficult.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

